Grampian Tigers Dirt Crit Race 2014

P1050141 copyKnockburn Loch was Saturday’s venue for the Grampian Tigers’ Dirt Crit race which saw almost 60 youth riders compete for pole position in five age categories. With entrants from clubs around the north-east including Ythan QL, Aberdeen Wheelers, Deeside Thistle CC and Grampian Tigers it was a fast-paced day for riders from 5 – 16 years old, both new to competitive riding and experienced racers alike. Race organiser Colin Sim said, “It was great to see such a range of riders pushing themselves, all with smiles and in a safe and fun environment. We hope to encourage more children who are keen to start racing and meeting other cyclists from the region to take part in these events.”  The races saw some fantastic effort from all the riders.  The coaches and helpers from all the clubs were rightfully delighted on the day to see such determination and enthusiasm. Grampian Tigers have been fortunate to secure sponsorship from Cambla, without which the race would not have been possible. Alexander MacLeod, Cambla, said, “It was great to see so many kids out enjoying the racing in the North East and I hope that the Grampian Tigers and other Aberdeenshire clubs can continue to run these events in the future to encourage more kids into the sport” A team of volunteers from Grampian Tigers and other local clubs worked hard to to ensure things ran smoothly on the day and Bike Remedy, Stonehaven kindly provided prizes. The race marked a celebration of the first successful year of coaching for the Stonehaven branch of Grampian Tigers who will finish the weekly coaching sessions at the end of November with an off-season break until Spring.  Following the success of Saturday’s race the club plan to host others next year as part of a race series with other Aberdeenshire clubs.  For the rest of this season we shall be working towards the next race at Knockburn which is the Scottish Cyclo Cross Championship on the 7th December – bring it on!!

P1050243 copy

The final results: 

E1 Under 6  

1 Melanie Rowe Ythan QL  
2 Ruaridh Kent Grampian Tigers  
3 Oliver Bain  

E2 Under 8  

1 Sam Horell Ythan QL  
2 Ranolph Whitehead Bike Station Ballater  
3 Reubens McLeod Grampian Tigers  

1st Girl Islay Pearson Deeside Thistle  

D under 10  

1 Elliot Rowe (E) Ythan QL  
2 Tom Horell Ythan QL  
3 Marlon Whitehead Bike Station Ballater  

1st Girl Abbey Lindsay Grampian Tigers      

C under 12  

1 Daniel Kain Ythan QL  
2 Lucas Whitehead Bike Station Ballater  
3 Alexander MacLeod Grampian Tigers  

B under 14  

1 Callum Cooper (C) Ythan QL  
2 Struan Pryde (B) Deeside Thistle  
3 Euan Kininmonth (B) Grampian Tigers  

A under 16  

1 Lewis Webster (A) Aberdeen Wheelers  
2 Callum Murdoch (A) Aberdeen Wheelers 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s